AMPJP Canonical Stewards Formation Committee

1 September 2021 by

People with expertise in formation will map out a three-year formation program for current and future people in governance roles at Ministerial Public Juridic Persons (MPJP).

The AMPJP Canonical Stewards Formation Committee was recently established to plan, but not necessarily deliver, formation activities/resources consistent with the AMPJP’s Formation Framework for MPJP Canonical Stewards.

Eva Skira AMPJP Council Chair:

MPJPs have stewardship of significant educational, health/aged care and community service ministries so it is essential that those in governance roles are competent in both the Church and the Civil aspects. MPJP governance is a comparatively recent development where the Baptised are the responsible Church Authority for Church ministries. This initiative will ensure that people have access to comprehensive formation and support to fulfill these roles.

 The members of the Committee are:

  • Jennifer Stratton (Chair)
  • Linda Ferrington rsc
  • Prof Peter Howard
  • Dr Christiaan Jacobs-Vandegeer
  • Susan Pascoe AM
  • Eva Skira AM
  • Dr Caroline Thompson

The Committee will be supported by a Reference Group whose members include: Rev Dr Joseph Parkinson and Dr Michael Downey.

Eva Skira AMPJP Council Chair:

Committee members are drawn from both inside and beyond MPJPs. The perspective of the wider Church will enrich the work of the Formation Committee.

The AMPJP Council places a high priority on the work of the Formation Committee. We see it as a vital element of strengthening the excellence of MPJP governance now and into the future.