Recent AMPJP appointments

13 September 2022 by

At its meeting on 13 September 2022, the AMPJP Council made the following appointments:




David Penny was appointed as Deputy Chairperson of AMPJP Council. David is the Calvary Ministries Member Representative to AMPJP. David has served as an AMPJP Councillor from 05 May 2017 to 25 Aug 2019 and since 10 Aug 2021.






Neville Owen AO KCSG was appointed AMPJP Member Representative to Australian Catholic Safeguarding Ltd (ACSL) filling the vacancy created by Eva Skira completing her term. Neville is the St John of God Australia Ltd Member Representative to AMPJP, the Chair of St John of God Australia Ltd and a member of the Pontifical Commission for the Protection of Minors. There are three Member organisations of ACSL:

  • Australian Catholic Bishops Conference (3 Member Representatives),
  • Catholic Religious Australia (2 Member Representatives) and
  • AMPJP (1 Member Representative).





Prof Peter Steane was appointed to the AMPJP Formation Committee filling the vacancy created when Eva Skira completed her term. Peter is the Chair of the Trustees of Catholic Healthcare and has extensive experience as a formator. The AMPJP Formation Committee was established in July 2021 to plan, but not necessarily deliver, formation activities/resources consistent with the AMPJP’s Formation Framework for MPJP Canonical Stewards.